A Story I Tell

I once wondered
If we never spoke again,
what then would you think?

I would hope that you
would just stay as the you I knew,
the you who I shared so much of my life with,
forever.

I later knew
That’s not how it worked
Each time I found you
Waiting for me in New York.
On those cold avenues
Where we walked
And where we kissed,
There you told stories
Where I had no part,
Just moments that I missed.

The you from then,
The you from New York,
And now the you
Of which I’m gone,
There is no part,
But I wonder if
You’ve let me live
In a story you tell
Of a time
That I was with you.

M.R. – 2013

Leave a Reply

