Getting Her Back

I stood up.
I have to talk to you about something important!Then I asked her to stand up.
She asked why.

I told her that it was important.
She still said no.
I tried to grab her hands
but she put them in a place where I couldn’t get them,
between her thigh and the hood of her grey Toyota,
And bounced her heals off the front tire.
Oh how I loved those legs:
Smooth, white, freckled, firm and big.

Soccer legs I called them.

It was over.

I bent over to pick up
one of those things from a maple tree,
Or whatever tree makes those things,
And stuck it to my nose.

M.R. 2011

Leave a Reply

